Home Page

EYFS Curriculum

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the National provision for two- to five-year-old children. It starts with Pre-schools or Nurseries and finishes in the Reception Year of the Primary School.


The Curriculum

The Foundation Stage consists of 7 areas of learning and development:


Prime Areas:

• Communication and Language 

• Physical Development 

• Personal, Social and Emotional Development 

Specific Areas:

• Literacy 

• Mathematics 

• Understanding the World

• Expressive Arts and Design 


These are the areas your child will learn through Nursery and Reception. There will be a central shared theme for every term, across the whole school, that learning opportunities will be created around.



Each area of learning and development will be implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child initiated activity. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems and relate to others. Children learn by leading their own play, as well as by taking part in play which is guided by adults.


Characteristics of Effective Learning

These characteristics show the ways in which a child engages with other people and with their environment – 'Playing and Exploring', 'Active Learning' and 'Creating and Thinking Critically'. They underpin learning and development across all areas and support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner.